Lithuania ratifies UPC Agreement

September 5, 2017

Lithuania ratified the UPC Agreement on the 24th of August, making it the 14th country to have put their signature down.

With the total of signed member states at 14, the minimal amount of countries required to make the Agreement come into effect has now been exceeded. Meaning that the wait is still for Germany or England to sign. Since, under the terms of the UPCA, the countries that have signed must at least include France, Germany and the UK. Of which the latter two still need to put their signature down.

The addition of Lithuania does mean that, when the UPC Agreement comes into effect, the territorial coverage of the Unitary Patent has increased by one country.

Currently Estonia, Italy, France, Austria, Denmark, Malta, Belgium, Bulgaria, Sweden, The Netherlands, Portugal, Finland and Luxembourg have ratified the treaty.

A complete overview of which countries have ratified the agreement, and when, can be found on the website of the European Council.